Filming at Chapel Arts this week

Written by  on February 28, 2014

 

This week saw the second stage of filming my teaching book blowout sax -a revolutionary approach for the forthcoming ibook version and many other important and vital ingredients to help visualise the saxophone.This is the way it is done on a green backdrop which lets you edit in any which way you like.It will complement material already on our blowout sax channel at   http://www.youtube.com/user/Blowoutsax.

Saxophone gigs to go to from February July 2014

Written by  on February 28, 2014

Sax Gigs from 1 March 2014

6 March The Selecter, Komedia, Westgate Street, Bath http://www.komedia.co.uk/bath/music/

7 March The Beat, The Fleece, Thomas Street, Bristol http://www.bristolticketshop.co.uk/eventdetails.aspx?e=4499

Bristol Jazz & Blues Festival Colston Hall, Bristol http://www.bristoljazzandbluesfest.com/
7 March: Andy Sheppard; the Bruce Ilett Swing Band

8 March: Pee Wee Ellis: Alan Barnes

 

 

 

 
9 March: Get the Blessing; Andy Sheppard; Adrian Cox Quintet
+ Free shows on all three days in the Colston Hall Foyer, see http://www.bristoljazzandbluesfest.com/program/foyer-artists/

12 March, Kevin Figes the Canteen, Stokes Croft, Bristol http://www.kevinfiges.co.uk/live-dates/

13 March Tord Gustavsen Ensemble, St George’s, Bristol http://www.stgeorgesbristol.co.uk/event/tord-gustavsen-ensemble/

14 March, Tori Freestone Be-Bop Club, Bear, Hotwells, Bristol http://www.thebebopclub.co.uk/index_files/WhatsOn.htm

16 March, The Inexplicables The Canteen, Stokes Croft, Bristol http://www.bandsintown.com/TheInexplicables?came_from=198

20 March, Snake Davis Chapel Arts Centre, Bath http://www.snakedavis.com/tourdates.asp

21 March, Snake Davis Quicksilver Mail, Hendford Hill, Yeovil http://www.snakedavis.com/tourdates.asp
Bartoune, Pound Arts, The Pound, Corsham http://www.bartoune.co.uk/gigdiary.htm
Chris Williams+George Crowley Be-Bop Club, Bear, Hotwells, Bristol
http://www.thebebopclub.co.uk/index_files/WhatsOn.htm

22 March Polar Bear, Thekla, Mud Dock, Bristol http://www.ents24.com/bristol-events/thekla/polar-bear/3649715

23 March, Lady Nade & Silhouettes Eldon House, Lower Clifton Hill, Bristol http://ladynade.wordpress.com/gigs/

24 March, Jean Toussaint Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham http://www.cheltenhamjazz.co.uk/

25 March, Dakhla Royal Oak, Lower Bristol Road, Bath http://www.dakhlabrass.com/gigs/

27 March: Andy Sheppard Fringe Bar, Clifton, Bristol http://www.fringejazz.com/gig-list/month.calendar/2014/01/14/-.html

28 March, Zen Hussies Royal Oak, Lower Bristol Road, Bath http://www.zenhussies.com/gigs.htm
Chris Biscoe Be-Bop Club, Bear, Hotwells, Bristol http://www.thebebopclub.co.uk/index_files/WhatsOn.htm

30 March, Dakhla Coronation Tap, Clifton, Bristol http://www.dakhlabrass.com/gigs/

31 March, Bristol University Coriband, Coronation Tap, Clifton, Bristol http://bigbandsoc.co.uk/gigs/

2 April, Delta Saxophone Quartet, Michael Tippett Centre, Bath http://www.michaeltippettcentre.org/events

3 April, Martin Genge, The Inn at Freshford, near Bath http://www.bristoljazzsoc.co.uk/jazzdiary.htm
The Inexplicables Mr Wolf’s, St Stephens Street, Bristol http://www.bandsintown.com/TheInexplicables?came_from=198

4 April, Fatman Swings, Old Duke, King Street, Bristol http://www.ents24.com/uk/tour-dates/fatman-swings
Cathy Jones’ Balança Be-Bop Club, Bear, Hotwells, Bristol http://www.thebebopclub.co.uk/index_files/WhatsOn.htm

6 April, Jean Toussaint Hen & Chicken, North Street, Bedminster, Bristol http://www.jazzata.com/

7 April, Joe Lovano, Barbican Centre, London http://www.joelovano.com/gigs/

8 April, Dakhla Colston Hall Foyer, Bristol http://www.dakhlabrass.com/gigs/

10 April, Kevin Figes St James Wine Vaults, Bath http://www.kevinfiges.co.uk/live-dates/

11 April, Dick Hamer Quintet Be-Bop Club, Bear, Hotwells, Bristol http://www.thebebopclub.co.uk/index_files/WhatsOn.htm
15 April, UB40, O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, Londonhttp://www.eventim.co.uk/ub40 (no local gigs)

17 April, Evan Parker Trio Fringe Bar, Clifton, Bristol http://www.fringejazz.com/gig-list/month.calendar/2014/01/14/-.html
Kevin Figes The Inn at Freshford, near Bath http://www.kevinfiges.co.uk/live-dates/

18 April, Lady Nade & Silhouettes Grain Barge, Hotwells Road, Bristol http://ladynade.wordpress.com/gigs/

19 April, UB40, The Institute, Birmingham http://www.eventim.co.uk/ub40 (no local gigs)

24 April, Joshua Redman, Wigmore Hall, London http://www.joshuaredman.com/tour

25 April, 3 Bonzos & a Piano, Square & Compasses, Ilminster http://www.squareandcompasspub.com/music.php

1 May, Michelson Morley, The Cube, Dove Street, Bristol http://michelsonmorley.com/events/

Cheltenham Jazz Festival Various Venues in Cheltenham http://www.cheltenhamfestivals.com/jazz/whats-on/list
2 May: Julian Siegel
3 May: Paul Dunmall, Loose Tubes, Denys Baptiste, Edge Project (Julian Arguelles/Pete Wareham), Snarky Puppy
4 May: Iain Ballamy
5 May: Jools Holland’s R&B Orchestra, Get the Blessing/Kairos Quartet

3 May, The Dualers, Tunnels, Temple Meads, Bristol http://www.ents24.com/bristol-events/the-tunnels/the-dualers/3529390
Pete Effamy Subscription Rooms, Stroud http://www.eliopace.com/gigs/#

4 May, Bartoune, Royal Oak, Lower Bristol Road, Bath http://www.bartoune.co.uk/gigdiary.htm

5 May, Ambling Band, Redland Green May Fair, Bristol http://theamblingband.co.uk/

8 May, Bartoune, Old Duke, King Street, Bristol http://www.bartoune.co.uk/gigdiary.htm

10 May, Soul Ingredients, the Tunnels, Temple Mreads, Bristol http://www.thetunnelsbristol.co.uk/events/
The Emperials Thunderbolt, Bath Road, Bristol http://www.thethunderbolt.net/whatson.ihtml

11 May, Craig Crofton, the Bell, Walcott Street, Bath http://www.petegagemusic.com/#!gigs/c1c5j

19 May, Hot 8 Brass Band, The Fleece, Bristol http://www.ents24.com/bristol-events/the-fleece/hot-8-brass-band/3744443

26 May, Jan Garbarek, Bath Abbey http://bathfestivals.org.uk/music/event/officium-novum/

27 May, Jan Garbarek, Salisbury Cathedral https://www.salisburyfestival.co.uk/detail.php?id=1303

13 June, ‘3 Tenors’ (Themen/Weller/Lockett), Meeting House, Ilminster http://www.themeetinghouse.org.uk/music/1016

20 June, Zen Hussies Thunderbolt, Bath Road, Bristol http://www.thethunderbolt.net/whatson.ihtml

27-29 June, Upton Jazz Festival Various Venues in Upton upon Severn http://www.uptonjazz.co.uk/

28 June, Yolanda Brown Iford Festival, Bradford on Avon http://www.yolandabrown.co.uk/events
Zen Hussies Iford Festival, Bradford on Avon http://www.zenhussies.com/gigs.htm

4 July, The Emperials Tunnels, Temple Meads, Bristol http://www.bristolticketshop.co.uk/eventdetails.aspx?e=5023

11 July, The Slackers, Fleece, Thomas Street, Bristol http://www.thefleece.co.uk/event/the-slackers-special-guests/

26 July, Nuttyness, the Tunnels, Temple Meads, Bristol http://www.thetunnelsbristol.co.uk/events/